Option Investor

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC)

The SEC is a federal agency responsible for regulating the securities markets by administering the regulations set forth by the Securities Act of 1933. Created by the Securities Act of 1934, the SEC is made up of five commissioners, which are appointed by the President of the United States for terms of five years.

The statutes administered by the SEC are designed to protect the investing public in the securities markets by promoting full public disclosure.

As stated by the Securities and Exchange Commission, their primary mission "is to protect investors and maintain the integrity of the securities markets."